Good old fashioned gluten-free biscuits

With Thanksgiving just around the corner I decided to hunt down some gluten-free biscuits.  For me biscuits and bread rolls were always one of my favorite parts of holiday meals and so being unable to eat them has been a little sad.  I always assumed that finding gluten free biscuits that actually tasted like biscuits would be nearly impossible and so I never even tried.  But when I decided to set out to find them I was very pleasantly surprised by the results.  In this post I am going to look at drop biscuits made with Bisquick’s gluten-free pancake and waffle mix, Pamela’s gluten-free biscuit and scone mix and a recipe that I found online at www.aroundmyfamilytable.com. For this week I also did something a little bit different.  It has been a while since I last had a biscuit and so I decided to set up a taste panel with one of my roommates, Jenna, and interview her about each of the biscuits.

SAMSUNG CSC

First I am going to look at the biscuits that I made using the gluten-free Bisquick.  In last week’s post I used the Bisquick to make gluten-free pancakes and while I was making the pancakes I noticed that the box also had various other recipes on it including biscuits.  After the success I had with the pancakes I was very excited to make the biscuits, but as far as taste I was a little bit disappointed. As Jenna put it they were a little bland, and most of the flavor in the biscuits came from the eggs required to make them. For taste we gave them a six out of 10.  The texture of these biscuits was Jenna’s favorite.  They were fluffy and she said they were pretty similar to regular biscuits so they get an eight out of 10.  At $4.59 for the box of Bisquick I still think that they were a bit expensive, and so for price they get a five out of 10.  And for availability they get an eight out of 10 because they were easy to locate at Publix but I haven’t found them anywhere else.

My next biscuits are Pamela’s gluten-free biscuit and scone mix.  For taste Jenna and I thought that these were still a little bland, but they didn’t taste like eggs and so they get a seven out of 10.  The texture of these biscuits was a little grainy and very crumbly, but it wasn’t bad.  Jenna and I gave them a seven out of 10.  These biscuits were $4.69 for a packet of mix that made one batch of biscuits, which is pretty pricey.  So for price I gave them four out of 10.  I found this biscuit mix at Publix in the Greenwise section however they didn’t have any other varieties and I haven’t found them anywhere else so for availability I give them a seven out of 10.

SAMSUNG CSC

My last biscuits I made using the recipe that I found on www.aroundmyfamilytable.com.  Jenna and I both thought that the flavor of these were good, but still a little bland.  So for taste we gave them a seven out of 10.  The texture of these biscuits was less grainy then the others and they had a softer texture and so they get an eight out of 10 for texture.  I made this biscuits using the same gluten-free all-purpose flour from my pancake blog, which cost $6.49 per bag, and I still have flour left over. So for price I give them an eight out of 10 for price.  For availability I give them a nine out of ten because the only special ingredient that I needed was the gluten-free flour and that was pretty easy to find at Publix.

Overall Jenna said that she thought the biscuits were all pretty good, and that if she hadn’t known they were gluten-free she probably wouldn’t have guessed it.  We both think that with a little butter these biscuits could make a great addition to a holiday meal.  That being said, in first place with 32 points are the biscuits from www.aroundmyfamilytable.com. In second place with 27 points are the biscuits made from Bisquick’s gluten-free pancake and waffle mix. And in third place with 25 points are the biscuits made from Pamela’s gluten-free biscuit and scone mix.

Leave a Reply

