The international house of gluten-free pancakes

This week I decided to look at breakfast foods.  And I thought of pancakes immediately.  So I set out to find the perfect gluten-free pancake mix and in the process I turned my apartment into the international house of gluten-free pancakes. I decided to try two pancake mixes, one by Bisquick and one by Maple grove and a recipe that I found on line at glutenfreecooking.about.com.

SAMSUNG CSC
A fresh stack of gluten-free pancakes.

So first is Bisquick’s gluten-free pancake and waffle mix.  I was actually really excited to find this because growing up my family always used Bisquick, and so it was nice to find a familiar brand name.  When I tried the gluten-free version I was not disappointed.  The pancakes tasted great and I actually think that I liked them better than Bisquick’s traditional mix.  They had a slightly sweet flavor that was very tasty and so for taste I gave them a 10 out of 10.  The texture of these pancakes was also really great.  The pancakes were soft and light and they didn’t get soggy immediately after adding syrup.  For texture I gave the pancakes a 10 out of 10.  This mix was pretty pricey especially considering the size of the box.  The box is much smaller than traditional Bisquick boxes and it $4.59 it costs over $2 more than traditional Bisquick. So for price I gave the pancakes five out of 10 points.  I was able to find them easily on the breakfast aisle at Publix, but I didn’t see them anywhere else and so for availability I gave them an eight out of 10.

The next pancake mix that I am looking at is Maple Grove’s gluten-free pancake mix.  The taste of these pancakes was okay. There wasn’t anything special about the taste but they didn’t taste bad so I gave them an eight out of 10.  There texture was my least favorite out of all of the pancakes.  They were dense and slightly grainy and so for texture I gave them a five out of 10.  The price was pretty good still expensive compared to regular pancakes but at $3.59 per box the price wasn’t too bad for gluten-free pancakes so for price I gave them eight out of 10.  They were also easy to find at Target in the breakfast food aisle and so they get an eight out of 10 for availability.

SAMSUNG CSC
A pancake from the gluten-free recipe I found.

Last but not least I tried a recipe for gluten free pancakes that I found on glutenfreecooking.about.com.  I chose this recipe for its simplicity because as a college student I didn’t want to have to hunt down four different types of gluten-free flours and xanthan gum.   This recipe simply called for all purpose gluten-free flour and a couple other ingredients that can be found in most kitchens.  That being said I think they turned out pretty well.  They tasted good but not great, but I chose not to add the optional vanilla because I didn’t add any to the other two pancakes. That being said I gave them an eight out of 10 for taste.  The texture of these was pretty good they were light and soft, but they were still a little bit grainy.  So for texture they get a seven out of 10.  For the price of these pancakes I’m not going to look at the cost of all of the ingredients because most of them were things I had in my kitchen anyway such as milk and eggs.  Instead I am just going to look at the cost of the gluten-free all-purpose flour that the recipe called for.  I used Pillsbury’s gluten-free multi-purpose flour which was $6.49 at Publix.  But the recipe only called for 1 ¼ cups of flower and it made way more pancakes then the others so for price I am gave them an eight out of 10.  All of the ingredients were relatively easy to find and so for availability I gave them a nine out of 10.

So for the final tally I have Bisquick’s gluten-free pancakes in first place with 33 points. In second place is the gluten-free pancake recipe form glutenfreecooking.about.com with 32 points. And Maple Grove’s gluten-free pancake mix is a close third with 29 points.

Leave a Reply

