Chicken nuggets

Although, at 19 years old, I am technically a young adult, chicken nuggets are still a substantial part of my diet. So, ever since I stopped eating gluten I have been on a mission to find gluten-free nuggets. I had heard rumors of gluten free chicken nuggets made by Tyson, but until recently I was unable to find them anywhere. Recently I was able to find three different brands of nuggets and that led me to writing this blog post.
This week I am going to look at Tyson’s Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets, Trader Joe’s Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets and Applegate Naturals Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets.
First I will look at Tyson’s Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets. I was so excited when I tried them because they tasted exactly like I remember Tyson’s traditional nuggets tasted, and really you can’t get much better than that. So for taste they get a ten out of ten. The texture was also perfect so they get another ten out of ten. The breading was just right: crispy, but not crunchy. The price was a little bit more then I would have hoped, and they are priced differently at Publix and Target, which is where I found them, but they cost less at Target so I will rate them based on that price. They were $6.29 per bag which is a little pricey for chicken nuggets so I give them a five for price. For availability in Gainesville I give them an eight out of ten. These nuggets were pretty easy to find in Gainesville, but they were sold out in one of the locations that I checked.
The next nuggets are Trader Joe’s Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets. Now these nuggets are a little bit different because they are whole chicken breast pieces, and they are not made of ground chicken. This is different, but I personally like it, even though they aren’t exactly the same as traditional nuggets. Despite this they taste great and so they also get a ten out of ten for taste. The texture of the breading on the nuggets is great. They are crispy and very satisfying. However because the texture of the chicken is different, they get a nine out of ten for texture. The price is what makes these nuggets really stand out. At $4.99 per bag they are quite a bargain for gluten free nuggets. Because of their budget friendly price these nuggets get a ten out of ten. They get a seven out of ten for availability. They are easy to find in the freezer section at Trader Joe’s and they are never out of stock, however they are only sold at one store in the area.
My last nuggets are the Applegate Naturals Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets. These nuggets were my least favorite because the taste wasn’t exactly what I expected from a chicken nugget. So get an eight out of ten for taste. They were good but they weren’t perfect. For texture they get a nine out of ten because although the breading was crispy there was a slightly grainy texture to them. These were the most expensive nuggets that I bought this week and to be honest they are not exactly fit for a college budget. At $8.99 per bag I found them to be very pricey and so I give them a three out of ten for price. For availability I give them a seven out of ten because they were easy to find in the freezer section of Target, but I didn’t find them anywhere else.
And for the final tally we have Trader Joe’s Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets in first place with 36 points, Tyson’s Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets are a close second with 33 points and in third place with 27 points are the Applegate Naturals Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets.

Leave a Reply

